Blog Post

Share this

Navratri is one of the most celebrated Hindu festivals. The celebration, which literally translates as “nine nights,” is dedicated to the Hindu goddess Durga, the mother goddess who also represents power. The festival worships Goddess Durga or Shakti, which represents the energy of the universe, in her nine beautiful forms with great reverence.

It is considered to be the most auspicious and unique periods of devotional practice and worship of Shakti, of the Divine conceptualized as the Mother Goddess-Durga, whose worship goes far back to prehistoric times before the dawn of the Vedic age.

It symbolizes the triumph of good over evil. Navratri takes place at the beginning of October around harvest time and is celebrated for nine days. The nine days represent the nine divine manifestations of Goddess Durga. During these nine nights, the nine forms of Shakti (also known as Navdurga) are worshipped.

During Navaratri, some devotees of Durga observe a fast and prayers are offered for the protection of health and property. A period of introspection and purification, Navaratri is traditionally an auspicious time for starting new ventures.

You are welcome to join us as we celebrate Navratri every year at our center in Mazunte, Mexico.

In India, the festival starts on the new moon day falling between September 15 and October 15. In East Asia, it starts on the 9th day of the 9th lunar month, around the same time period.

Leave a Reply

Latest Post

Hridaya Bhajans — the Yoga of Devotion

Hridaya Bhajans — the Yoga of Devotion By Antoaneta Gotea In Hridaya, every Saturday evening is a special celebration for all of us. We gather to express love towards the Divine, the consciousness that permeates every single atom in the universe and is the very source of everything, through sacred

Read More
More Posts
Follow Us on Instagram