(Cakra): Plexus; wheel; vortex. Refers to different centers in the subtle anatomy of the human being, known under different names, including pranic centers, psychic centers, psycho-energetic centers, and cerebrospinal centers. They correspond to different levels of consciousness. The yogic tradition mentions different chakra systems, out of which the six chakra system is the most popular. This includes: muladhara, svadhisthana, manipura, anahata, vishuddha, and ajna. A seventh center, sahasrara, is described, but it is not considered a chakra. This is due not only to the wholeness of the energy that it represents, but also because it is considered to be “the seat of Shiva,” and “the abode of Supreme Consciousness”—it expresses not only immanent energy, but also transcendence. Read more about the chakras.